top of page

Caught in the Amber

A Song by Nate G.


[Verse I]

Stuck behind the window

Left to dry, the sunlight here forever

Throwing out the pictures                             

Then wishing that the books would just go too


Always marching forward

Hand in hand, a music stand to guide me

Summer soon is coming, round the corner,

Round the corner, lately


[Chorus]

All the things that make me up

Now break me down

Turning around to find

No one standing there to say that

It's all right, "it's only in your mind"


Whatever happened to the people that I hate?

And crossing sidewalks on the way to school

Is it too late to say "I'm sorry" now?


[Verse II]

Waking in the evening

To see the mirror's eyes won't look in mine

Walls keep building, is this how it goes for life,

How it goes for life?


Caught in the amber, it's so easy and so painful

Feeling joy at being still until it's hardened

And I don’t want congratulations


[Chorus]


[Bridge]

Soon it is my birthday, 

Here and gone, another year

Everything's changing                       

Everything's changing


[Outro]

All the ones who build me up

I can't let down

Looking ahead to find

The someone standing there

It's always me and you, you're always in my mind


Whatever happened to the people that I hate?

And crossing sidewalks on the way to school

Is it too late to say "I love you" now?

bottom of page