top of page

Where I’m From

By Artemis L



I’m from the undying desire to read.

Since I could read, I didn’t stop.

I read everywhere, the dinner table, math class, late at night, you name it.

It angered the crap out of people in my life, especially when I was younger, and I was frequently told to

“STOP READING.”

Theres a report card from 3rd grade stating something along the lines of “Artemis would do better if he wasn’t reading in math.”

 

I was informed,

By my mom

That if I read (Percy Jackson) at the dinner table, I’d turn “Goth.”

She meant I’d become a drug addict.

Logically,

That makes no sense.

And I haven’t done any drugs in my 15 years of life, so that wasn’t even true.

 

I still read though.

I read to escape,

To feel,

To distract myself,

To learn,

To grow,

And to better myself.

 

I read fast.

Too fast, in my own opinion.

Why? Because I run out of books to read,

Frequently.

 

bottom of page