top of page

Prom Dress

By Marlena O





I tried on my prom dress today.

I had begged for it for months,

My mind set on it, so sure it was the one.


But as i slipped it on today,

and my mother zipped it up,

I couldn’t help but hate the way it fit,

hate the way it hungi looked boxy, rectangular


my chest seemed more flat

Did it look like this on the website?

It couldn’t have, right?  


the more i stared at my own reflection,

i realized it wasn’t the dress,

it was me i simply dont look like the girl in the picture.


and that hurts me, you know because

i was so sure id feel beautiful

but there i stood,

arms crossed over my stomach

trying to convince myself it looked good


my boyfriend said it was stunning,

But he would never say i looked bad

Will he be embarrassed to stand with me at the dance

in my frumpy dress


that i just HAD to have

bottom of page