top of page

just for minute

by Lev P












Soon it will be two months

And I don't feel anything

And I can see all of it

And its crippling


I’m scared I thought of you

The way my mom felt when the hospital called


I’m scared you saved me more in four months

Than anyone had in my 17 years of living


I know I was a replacement memory

Maybe if we kiss, and we kiss,

And my hands are up your shirt

And yours are on my waist -

There will be enough good

That replacing the miserable

Doesn't feel so impossible


I know this

And it's far from your fault

I know this

But I never got to ask you if I was anything else

Or maybe … the number of times and the way

You were never great

at answering those questions

Didn’t feel like a sufficient yes


But was it more

Did you think I was beautiful

Or maybe… did you lie when you said I was

Did you truly

With your mind and your dreams

Long to go on an expedition

in the woods with me


I never got to feel the fear of asking you

If you love me

In the same way I loved you


I’m scared that you didn't know

And I’m terrified

That you didn't believe


A room with you in it was

Always a better room


When the distracting humor

And the humorous distractions

Were forgotten,

Your heart would get punctured

And I thought I could see it

Maybe even

I could tell you the length of the needle

Or the color of the thumb tack

At any given point


Your true smile

Not the often outline -

The idea of happy


Your true smile,

Was brighter than any beam

Of sunlight

I had bathed under with you


In the unforgiving desserts,

In the summer,

The modest rain

Was more a cause for celebration

Than it ever would have been


Because you had been waiting

And hoping and praying

With me


The down poor

Heavy drops of blue euphoria

we were both finally there

We could leave the maze for a little

Even just for a minute

Not in physicality

Not in a conclusion of freedom

But our minds

Our hearts and our souls

Had joined the clouds in the sky

We could see it all

A just for a minute

Freedom felt less like a myth

Than we had ever imagined

bottom of page