top of page

I Want Cats Cuddling Closer than Distance

By Lev P.



I lay on the grass

Which is just past the point of dampness

I would have preferred it to be at.

I lay on the grass

Whos small scratches tickle my neck

Tickle my hands

Tickle my ankles.

When the grass tells me they love me

I know it is true.

I also do not think,

In these moments,

Of romance as a carrier for love.

My mind is devouring social energy, composing a plan, a to-do list perhaps, for the next ten years.

During intermissions from the scheduling, I am longing, I am lonely.

Not too much of this empty is paid attention to.


I want warmth, wonders,

Us wandering in the wind

Wishing it wouldn’t end.


Smiling through scented sensations,

Sensitive to something smaller

Than everything.


I want laying in your lap

Laughing at the lightness

Lovely, leisurely strolls

Longing for our time to last

Longer, loving forever.


Fearless comfort,

Crawling comfortably community

Between us.


Cats cuddling closer than distance.

Careless commotion moving quietly,

Kindly kindling it all.


Hands intertwined

Warm comfort

Loneliness resigned

With exciting efforts.


I will feel the grass and the ground supporting my mass,

My bones, my skin, muscles, tissues, atoms

I will feel the earth supporting you too

I will send my love to the earth

I will share my love with you.




bottom of page