top of page

I Am From

By Kendall K



I am from a brown brick pre-war coop with 16 floors

and 65 units with a full time door man


I am from the flavored ice cart used as a reward

in order to bribe us to excel in elementary


I am from the deli employees that know my name

and order by heart


I am from confusion, I am from catcallers, I am

from humanity, I am from monkey bars


I am from my mother’s tears as she wept, seeing my

first few steps into headquarters in Vermont


I am from the paper birch that provided me with fire

in the February cold


I am from sleepless siren stoplight nights without

end, and crowded subway filled days without beginning


I am from Austrian immigrants who coupled up with

Polish refugees


I am from doctors who loved lawyers


I am from my skinned knee, I am from bouncing

back, and I am from blood, sweat and tears


I am from the blind eye my friends turned when

they saw me break


I am from my fear of the ocean, I am from

deception and resurrection and rejection


I am from jungle gyms


I am from Kindergarten crushes


I am from stubborn woman and angry men, and

from taco Tuesdays that are actually Wednesdays


I am from “she is clothed with strength and dignity;

she can laugh at the days to come, she speaks with

wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue. . .”



bottom of page