top of page

French Braids

By Alex B

summertime brought french braids

my forgotten sunkissed boyhood

whispered quietly to the strawberry moon

french braids to swim faster

play harder

jump higher

smile wider

because summertime curls have a mind of their own

thick salty air gave my dark tresses a piece of her mind

telephone wires twisting down my neck, a cupped hand secret

on the bus

“pinky promise you won’t tell?”


summertime brought french braids

my curls were stitched into a friendship bracelet

every morning by camp counselors

i would sit between their knees as their fingers wove

the familiar pattern

left over middle

gather

right over middle'

gather

left over middle

gather

the only time you would catch me sitting still

right over middle

“quiet coyote!”

gather

“everyone listen to-”

left over middle

“croc-a-dilly-oh-my”

gather

tied with a hair tie

right over middle

or a silly band

gather

or a stray piece of embroidery thread tied in a knot

summertime brought french braids

french braids to laugh louder

hug tighter

stand taller


breathe deeper.

bottom of page