top of page

fairy lights

A Poem by Maggie Munday O.


nestled in my bed’s blankets

like an unborn chick

warm inside its egg

sleep tugs at my eyes

dragging them closed

dreamland’s warm hands hug me tight

and softly cradle me

still in my world

but slipping into the land

of nighttime fantasies

in this place of in-between

all I see is blurred

the world is a mish mash of color

a two year olds finger painting project

a patchwork dress

silent fireworks

cans of paint splattered on a canvas

the fiery flames of a sunrise

sparkling and spinning

twirling and dancing

the speckles of color

whirl around me as I sink into my pillow

spinning and churning

in a baker’s mixing bowl

a colorful snow flurry

close enough to touch

yet always fluttering from my grasp

butterflies of color

perch on the pillow next to me

fairies of the night

their wings alight with color

rolling around me

like a storm of twinkling stars

where I am the eye

my mouth opens into a yawn

the cradle of light rocks me back and forth

my eyelids slip closed once more

and I give in to sleep

dreamland pulls me close

and carries me into the night



bottom of page