top of page

Expectations

By Maya M




I grew up with expectations

That I would be successful and happy

That I would have a good education

That I would have a loving family

But life didn't go as planned

I faced many challenges and struggles

I didn't get what I wanted

And I didn't get what I needed

Expectations are illusions

Expectations are messed up conclusions

Expectations are confusions

Expectations are the cause of my delusions

I tried to meet the expectations

That society put on me

That I would be rich and famous

That I would be smart and pretty

But life didn't give me a chance

I faced many obstacles and failures

I didn't fit in the standards

I didn't match the criteria

I had to lower my expectations that I had for myself

That I would be happy and fulfilled with things

That I would be loved and respected

But life didn't make it easy

I faced many disappointments and regrets

I didn't achieve my dreams

I didn't find my purpose

Expectations are illusions

Expectations are messed up conclusions

Expectations are confusions

Expectations are the cause of my delusions

Expectations are killing me

Expectations are hurting me

Expectations are breaking me

Expectations are the reason why I'm broken

Expectations are unrealistic because I can't see my future

Clouded by my tears that refuse to fall and hoping they won’t fall on the graves of the ones I love

bottom of page