top of page

Dear Max

Anonymous

When I first went back to the Ed Office, I could hear my heartbeat in my ears. Blood rushed into my eyes feeling the pounding on my lids whenever they closed.


Eerily cold while my feet dragged bumping into kids while they walked out of their classes. I know everyone’s mind is in the same place when they walk by, while their gaze inadvertently goes to the glass to look through and see your familiar face. Breakfast during Chemistry, no more. Long talks about family, no more. Laughing at memories, no more. Kids coming in to say hi, no more. Changing another kid‘s life?


Well . . .you changed a whole school. I find myself looking in the distance at faces too far to see, hoping that when they’re not a blur it’ll be you. And I know you’re not coming back. And I know you are an angel heaven let us borrow, and I still can’t believe they took you back so soon.


You have made an unbelievable impact on people’s lives and I just want to say this:


Dear Max,


You did it.


Thank you.


Sincerely,


all of us

bottom of page