top of page

As She Yells From the Clouds

by Lev P



Today she announced her authority

momentarily interrupting many converstations in transition

when I was small, her vast and strong power

terrified me.

My absence to her would be that of an ant

that was stepped on,

possibly by accident.

My power of deciding on eggs or toast for breakfast

began to feel increasingly insignificant.

I would cry, shake, chatter

tremors consumed me.

Freezing Spring, or maybe Summer

The desert was unforgiving, brutal.

Now I give far less than enough gratitude for the nourishment.

I want to thank her on behalf of the

lilies, and the ferns, and the birch trees, and

the duck pond, and the dry soil, and the grass field

and all of them

My adrenaline shifts towards excitement

and appreciation.




bottom of page