top of page

Anger Sonnet

by Charlie O

I want to start off by saying thatyou make me sick.

I’m unmanageable? I’m unloveable?

You made me unmanageable.

You made me unloveable.

It feels like I’m wearing a corset

Made of thorns and your teeth.

Every inch of my skin is repulsive and disgusting,But you dare comment on it when it’s your teeth that sink into me.

I am your monster, yet you can’t even look at me.

Rather, you claw at my flawed body, your ravenous handsfeasting on my flesh and bones.

I already feel the world’s eyes on me as I walk

I don’t need nor want your eyes too.

I have swallowed coals so I can breathe fire.

I’ve killed birds so I can fly.

I’ve stolen gold to make a den.

You want a monster? Fine.

I’ll be your personal monster; a monster that will forever scorch you.

bottom of page